By Dan Perretta

For the life of me I cannot recall where and how I found out about Bloodnstuff.  Did a friend recommend them?   Did I stumble onto their music or a review on another website? It bugs me to this day, but I am more than happy to have them in my music library nonetheless.  I was so obsessed with this album when I first heard it, I spent almost a year hunting down a vinyl copy.  I would routinely check all the usual sites every few weeks to a month and went so far as to call record stores in and near Minneapolis, MN, where the band hails from.  One day, I was talking to a fellow music lover about it and happened to see a used copy was listed on the Amoeba record store website.  Purchase!  Now, to be clear, I love my vinyl collection, but they do not collect dust on a shelf.  I listen to them regularly, and the self-titled release from Bloodnstuff gets frequent play time.

Bloodnstuff is duo, guitarist/vocalist and drummer, that make bigger sounds than some three-piece, or hell, even some four-piece groups I have heard.  Through use of effects he refers to as a “secret weapon”, Ed Holmberg makes his guitar sound like a two guitars and a bass.  I dare say it is witchcraft and if I were of puritan heart I would demand he was burned at the stake or crushed between two large stones.  As impressive as the sounds he creates are, they are matched by the actual music he composes.  The riffs are super catchy and surprisingly heavy.  Listening to tracks like “Build a Monster” just blow my mind with the technical nature of some of the guitar lines and his use of dissonance.  Granted, we are not talking technical death metal levels of insanity, but really great technical song writing in general.  I should also point out that Ed’s vocals are really interesting as well, very rock and roll to say the least.  His vocal tone fits the music perfectly.  Ed does not have a very melodic voice, but it is never out of key or grating to hear.  The drummer, Dylan Gouert, does not bust out anything anyone might call fancy or overly complicated, but his drumming exactly what the music needs.  He delivers a passionate performance on each track and “One Day Roses”, you can really find yourself getting hyped from the drum beats.  Additionally, the mix on the album and drum choice is really great.  I have listened to some records and thought, “Dear God, you chose that snare?” or “Why did they feel the need for us to hear more drum than guitar (or vice versa)?”  I do not find myself having any of those feelings or thoughts on “Bloodnstuff”.

There is a ton to like about this album.  It is another complete piece.  I do not feel there are any throwaway tracks and the ride is smooth and satisfying.  If you are looking for a really great rock record to spin, this definitely needs to make it to you library.  You can find a copy on Bandcamp, iTunes, or Amazon.

